But I Loved Him Prologue

My short story, “But I Loved Him” is a story I’ve been working on for a little while. Here is the prologue hope you enjoy…

 

 

“Move!” I yell as he tries to touch me. The thought of his hands on my skin makes me burn inside. I look at his face and try to recognize the man that I fell in love with. The man that I now know will never… be mine. I shake my head and step back as tears stream down my face. I choke up as I see the sorrow in his eyes, and I close my eyes as I try to catch my breath. “Do not touch me.”, I say as calm as I can. “I’m….” he starts but, I interrupt him. “You’re what? Sorry?” I say as I open my eyes, tears still flowing from them. Before he can answer I say, “No, you’re not.. And that’s the sad part. “, while looking into his beautiful hazel eyes I grew to adore. I shake my head, trying to get the thoughts that are now running through my head, out. I pull the Glock out of the back of my jeans and raise it up to his head, less than 5 feet away from him. The moment that I have been dreading for so long, is now happening. Still breathing hard, I notice how light the gun feels between my hands. Knowing that this is the last time I will ever hold one, the need of getting this over with fills me. Then, I hear the click. My eyes widen and at the last moment, he says, “I love…” as I hear the gun go off. I fall to my knees while feeling something I knew I never want to feel again. Before my eyes close, I say the words, “I know”, then all I can see is darkness.

Leave a Reply

